ANNUAL REPORT OF SPORTS COMMITTEE OF SHAHID MATANGINI HAZRA GOVERNMENT GENERAL DEGREE COLLEGE FOR WOMEN (2022-2023)

The Annual sports event of Shahid Matangini Hazra Government General Degree College for Women, Nimtouri for the academic session 2022-2023 was held on 3rd and 4th January, 2023 along with Students Observation Week-2023 (02.01.2023 to 07.01.2023, Dept of H.E, Govt of WB) at college premises. Sports committee along with students of our college participated a three days Purba Medinipur District Inter College Sports & Games Championship - 2022-2023 programme organized by Tamralipta Mahavidyalaya on 2nd February to 4th February, at Rakhal Memorial Football Ground, Tamluk. The Hits for various events started around 9 O'clock in the morning at our college ground. Students have to participate in sports to increase confidence, mental alertness, and self-esteem. Students can perform better in academics by including sports in their daily routines. Sports will keep their mind fresh, and physically fit, and add discipline to their study routine. Skills such as coordination, multitasking and situational awareness will help in enhancing their academic skills. Shot put, Slow bi-cycle race, Discus throw, Hit the stamp, events were held on 3rd January,2023. Other events like Musical Chair, Hit the stamp, Go as you like and prize distribution were held on 4th January,2023.Students from different departments enthusiastically participated in the qualifying grounds. The final rounds began around 12 noon after the lunch break during which participants were offered a small but sumptuous meal. Our honorable principal sir Dr.Bijay Krishna Ray inaugurated the program by igniting the ceremonial lamp. The college flag was hoisted by the principal followed by the opening speech through which she inspired the finalists of different events. The final events began with great enthusiasm from 12.15 and continued till 4.30 pm.A friendly event like Hit the stamp between the teaching and non-teaching for male faculty members was held on 4th January,2023 and Musical chair between the teaching and non-teaching for female faculty members was held on 3rd January, 2023. Event wise winner list have been given below. At the time of prize giving ceremony our Principal sir, sports convenor and other senior professors presented the winners of different events with medals and certificates.

EVENT NAME	RANK	NAME	DEPARTMENT
Shot put	$1^{\rm st}$	Sabana Khatun	Sanskrit
	$2^{^{\mathrm{nd}}}$	Bikash Khatun	Bengali
	$3^{\rm rd}$	Shikha Guria	Sanskrit
Discus throw	1 st	Bilkish Khatun	Bengali
	2 nd	Jayanti Hazra	Philosophy
	3 rd	Susmita Mandal	Pol.Sc
Hit the stamp	1 st	Manidipa Pradhan	Sanskrit
	2 nd	Priti Das	Bengali
	3 rd	Riya Maiti	Math
Spoon marble race	1 st	Rumpi Hazra	English
	2 nd	Priyanka Jana	Geology
	3 rd	Lili Das	Philosophy
Slow bi-cycle race	1 st	Rikta Parai	Philosophy
	2 nd	Aranya Bag	English
	3 rd	Shikha Guria	Sanskrit
Musical chair	1 st	Parbati Ghorai	Philosophy
	2 nd	Arpita Adhikary	Bengali
	3 rd	Sulekha Samanta	Pol.Sc
Go as you like	1 st	Shampa Barman,Mampi Das	English
	2 nd	Lili Das	Philosophy
	3 rd	Sneha Dinda,Zeba Zahin	Chemistry
Hit the stamp	1 st	Sayan Bag	Physics
(Male Faculty)	2 nd	Pradip Banerjee	Office staff
	3 rd	Sachinath Bera	Chemistry
Musical Chair	1 st	Aditi Jana	Physics
(Female Faculty)	2 nd	Mitali Dewan	Chemistry
	3 rd	Piyasi Biswas	Physics

















